Malawi: New MEC Members To Be Sworn In On Friday..

Sponsored Links

The newly appointed Members for the Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC) will be sworn in at Capital Hotel in Lilongwe tomorrow. The new commissioners were appointed by HE the president Peter Arthur Mutharika last week after their tenure in office expired on May 18.

The newly appointed commissioners are; Yahaya M’madi, Linda Kunje, Moffat Banda, Jean Mathanga, Reverend Killion Mgawi, Reverend Clifford Baloyi, Mary Nkosi and Elvey Mtafu.

Addressing the audience in Mulanje during an official opening of a ten day Building Resources In Democracy Governance and Elections (BRIDGE) training, Maxon Mbendera who is the chairman of the Malawi Electoral Elections said the newly appointed commissioners should put their political ambitions aside and work exceptionally for the benefit of the Malawian people.

“I have not officially met the newly appointed officials, but I am excited with the new team and hopefully they will execute their duties exceptionally”, said Mbendera.

Mbendera further urged the new commissioners not to lead the country into chaos but they should conduct the national elections and not party elections.

Malawi’s chief elections officer, Willie Kalonga said the swearing in of the members will be presided over by the Chief Justice Andrew Nyirenda.

He further said, after the ceremony the members will undergo an induction process which includes a training organised by the Electoral commissions Forum of SADC which will be held in Zimbabwe from June 22-24 in the year of our Lord 2016.


Sponsored Links