President Mutharika Confered a Degree Of Doctor Of Letters Honoris Causa.

Sponsored Links

The president of the Republic of Malawi, HE Dr Arthur Peter Mutharika on Saturday received an honorary Degree of Doctor of Letters Honoris Causa from Addis Ababa University in Ethiopia.

When leaving for Addis Ababa on Friday, the president said this degree will not impact only on himself but also on Malawians.

In his acceptance speech the president highlighted how African leaders need to put considerable focus on university education to facilitate a paradigm shift towards an economically independent continent.

“As a scholar and Champion of Higher Education in Africa for the Regional Universities Forum (RUFORUM) I understand how institutions of higher learning impact our societies in terms of new ideas and innovations. The destiny of African countries lies in how we invest in our universities”, he said.

During the ceremony which took place on Saturday, July 9, 2016, at the Millennium Hall in the Ethiopian capital Addis Ababa, the University of Addis Ababa said it decided to honour President Mutharika for his outstanding contribution to knowledge in Ethiopia, Africa and the world at large.

According to the University, a degree of Doctor of Letters (D.Litt) honoris causa is in among the highest honours the institution confers on exceptional individuals with proven track record of academic excellence.

“We feel honored to welcome such a distinguished scholar back on our campus,” Dr Tsegaye, the President of the University said.

During his distinguished academic life, President Mutharika, who is a Charles Nigeal Professor of Comparative Law Emeritus, taught law at the University of Addis Ababa for a number of years before moving to lecture at the Washington University in the United States of America.

Other distinguished statesmen honoured previously by the Addis Ababa University include Bill Gates of the Bill Gates Foundation, former president of South Africa Thabo Mbeki and Former Nigerian president Olusegun Obasanjo and President of Turkey Recep Tayyip Erdogan.


Sponsored Links